The birthday collection

With my birthday little over a month away, I thought it would be fun to introduce you to my birthday collection, a series of dresses I bought over the years as a birthday present to myself, which are then worn for the first time on my family birthday party.

O

It all started with this L&L dress that I originally bought in 2010 to celebrate my birthday in Madrid, together with my cousin who lives in Spain (and has her birthday on the same day as me) and my sister.
Unfortunately the trip was cancelled and this became the first dress that became a special birthday dress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The next year I wore this Cassis dress, which was love at first sight, effectively saving these Tamaris shoes in a shoeper shoe save. In the mean time they have been replaced by another pair of nude Tamaris sling backs.

10991064_10153321306269206_960362721647135320_n

This Bel&Bo dress was my choice for 2013. The boots were one of my rare impulse buys, I fell in love with them because of their outside zippers.

10980708_10153345121184206_6272596778533567077_n

This dress is one of only 3 JBC items I own, since even though they always have lovely clothes often in lovely deep colours, they only seem to cater to people without boobs (i.e. not me).
In 2013 I changed jobs and no longer worked near 2 shopping centers with lots of choice in dresses. My new job however has a JBC virtually on its parking lot, so I decided to hop over there during my lunch break just for heck of it… returning with this pretty green flowery dress, which I like to pair with these flower embellished tights.

wpid-wp-1434638186108.jpg

And then last year’s dress (again an L&L dress,so the circle is round), which can easily worn with tights and boots or, as shown above, with sandals and a cardigan… A dress for all seasons, which I can only love in a dress since they’re my favourite items of clothing.

I haven’t found this years dress yet, but I still have little over a month to find one, which is plenty of time since I’ll be at home working on getting back my energy at least until the end of September.

Do you have a tradition of buying yourself a dress or something special for your birthday or another occasion?

Leave a Reply

