Pentatonix in 5 (not so short) points

Two weeks ago on Sunday Pentatonix came to Belgium for the second time and for the second time me and my newest housemate (who I am eternally grateful for letting me discover this band) were present.

Pentatonix
An a capella band from Texas that originated in 2011 when the 3 founding members (Kirstie Maldonado, Mitch Grassi and  Scott Hoying) decided to enter “The Sing Off” and needed at least one extra band member.
They met Avi Kaplan through a mutual friend in the a capella scene and contacted Kevin Olusola after a video of him
celloboxing went viral. (Celloboxig is a wonderful mix of playing the cello whilst beat boxing and Kevin now has his own solo album out).
They met the day before the audition, did a great audition and became that year’s winners.
They unfortunately lost their record deal quite quickly to sing on with a Sonny record company afterwards, but they never let it get it to them, launching a very succesful Youtube channel (with over 8 million subscribers and over 900 million cumulative views).
Their most viewed number must be their Daft Punk medley, for which they received the Grammy for Best Arrangement, Instrumental and A Cappella earlier this year.

They mostly bring pop songs, but are not afraid to tackle jazz, classical music and so much more. Their repertoire consists of covers, regularly in a medley format, in their own unique arrangements as well as more and more original songs.
What makes their style so unique, other than the arrangements, are their use of vocal percussion not only through Kevin’s beat boxing but through Avi’s gorgeous Basso Profondo voice, which makes me go weak in the knees.

VIP arrangement
Just like last year there were VIP arrangements and this year we chose a slightly bigger one than last year including:
– private sound check of one song
– a Q&A session
– photo opportunity with the band
– short meet&greet during a signing session
– goodie bag
– early access to the venue and the possibility to shop in private (I bought a t-shirt and my housemate bought a t-shirt and a  hoodie)

The concert and it’s highlights
They played in quite a bigger venue in another part of the country this year, resulting in a bigger and a slightly rowdier audience this year. Lucky for me I had my bear of a housemate with me, securing our front row places and making sure I wasn’t trampled or squished.

I enjoyed a concert that was a wonderful mix  of covers and original songs, up beat songs as well as more timid ones that moved me to tears.

It’s hard to choose highlights from such a delightful show, so I’m sharing with you the two songs that left the biggest impression (two original songs even):

Standing by – a song in which Avi takes up the lead vocal proving that he is more than a very low bass and during which we were all asked to light up the venue with little stars by shining a light with our cellphones.
Fun fact: this song was written on tour last year, in Antwerp.

That’s Christmas to me –  a song that gives me goose bumps every time, but now moved me to tears when they decided to sing it “off mic” and got a venue with 4000 people so quite you could have heard a pin drop

(a crowd that only seconds afterwards exploded when they finished their set with their Daft Punk Medley)

The outfit
I stress over my outfits for any given occasion and for this concert it wasn’t any different since I wanted something comfy (had to stand for hours) yet something nice too, as I was going to have my picture taken with the band!
So I asked some help from the ladies and gents at Go Frock Yourself and aside from some very nice compliments they came up with the following advice:
– pumps or flats and a cute tea dress with a cardigan
– flats, a dress and tights
– pumps or flats, skinny jeans and a nice top

In the end it became flats, a red skater dress with a cross-over bodice and a cardigan for the cold. And I think it worked just great!

IMG_9539-L

Pictures

IMG_9526-X2

CDl7-AxWAAAlIlI

image

Leave a Reply

