The Frockery February eco-fashion challenge

I can’t really remember how I stumbled across The Frockery ‘s February eco-fashion challenge, but it immediately caught my attention.
The full brief is as follows

In celebration of hand made, vintage and recycled, we are encouraging friends, fans and followers to join us by embracing our eco-fashion February challenge during the shortest, darkest and most depressingly bill-filled month of the year.

The rules are simple: all or most of your clothing has to be hand made, vintage, recycled or second hand for the 28 consecutive days of February (no cheating!)

Tell us how you get on by posting your pictures, outfit descriptions, sources and costs here on our Frockery Facebook page and we’ll offer a £50 Frockery voucher to the most stylish and creative eco-fashionista at the end of the month.

So in order to establish whether this would be doable for me I spent most of the evening making up an inventory of my clothes which led me to the following conclusions:

– a lot of the recycled and second hand stuff I have is only suitable for garden or chores wear
– all 3 pairs of second hand shoes I have come from the same friend
– all of my second hand clothes are either: stuff my sis didn’t like anymore, stuff colleagues bought and never wore, stuff I borrowed form former bf’s and never returned or sweaters that became to small for my brother or for my partner.
– but most imporatantly I only have 2 pairs of trousers, 2 skirts, 1 legging and 1 dress that are suitable for day to day wear, so I’ve decided not to take part in the official challenge. In stead I’ll do my own minimalistic version in which I at least try to live up to the challenge on week days.

I’m not sure yet whether I’ll be able to do a daily update (I still have to learn to work with a tripod and my bf isn’t all to keen on taking daily pictures of me) so it’s quite possible that I’ll only do a weekly roundup.

Leave a Reply

